Session 7.29.09 Archive

60 Web 2.0 Tools in 60 Minutes


Animation Sites:

Create animated cartoons with an online animation engine

1. Doink (http://www.doink.com/)
Create web based animations easily using the online creator

Example:

Ball Bounce by blutz01, made at DoInk.com

2. Scratch DL (http://scratch.mit.edu/)
Create animations and basic programing, excellent downloadable site

3. Xtra Normal (http://www.xtranormal.com/)
Create avatar movies based on text-to-voice, learn basics of video and camera angles

Example:


Avatar:

A video digital personna to embed into wikis, web sites or e-mail, uses text-to-voice or your own audio to create a variety of greetings

5. Voki (http://www.voki.com/)
Use to create Avatars

Example:

Get a Voki now!


Honorable Extras:
Gizmoz (http://www.gizmoz.com/newsite/presite/home.jsp)

Blogging:

Create writings that allow for collaboration, shared thoughts and ideas

6. Class Blogmeister http://classblogmeister.com/index.php
Created by David Warlick, blog site created specifically for the classroom and allows for students to blog safely and comment on each others blogs

Honorable Extras:
Blogger http://www.blogger.com/home
Vox http://www.vox.com/
Wordpress http://wordpress.org/

Chat:

Sites to create classroom chats or back channels while teaching

7. Cover it live (http://www.coveritlive.com/)
Embed a chat directly onto a wiki, also allows for student monitoring

8. Tiny Chat http://tinychat.com/
Link that allows for text, video, and auditory chat

Honorable Extras:
Chatzy (http://www.chatzy.com/)
Skype http://www.skype.com/
Yack Pack (http://yackpack.com/)

Collage Creators:

Uses multiple pictures to create collages in different shapes and sizes

9. Shape Collage DL (http://www.shapecollage.com/)
Create collages with free downloadable software

Comic:

Sites that allow uses to create cartoons using various artistic features

10. Make Beliefs Comix (http://www.makebeliefscomix.com/Comix/)
Create a cartoon online, free site

Honorable Extras:
Hero Machine (http://www.ugo.com/channels/comics/heromachine/classic.asp)
Kerpoof (http://www.kerpoof.com)
Read Write Think Comic (http://www.readwritethink.org/MATERIALS/comic/)
ToonDo (http://www.toondoo.com/Home.do)

Computational Engine:

Allows the user to input questions or data and receive answers or facts

11. Wolfram Alpha http://www.wolframalpha.com/
Computes information; i.e. put in an algebraic equation and the answer will be computed or put in a date and receive information on what happened that day

Examples:
http://www18.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=BMI+5%2710%27%27%2C+165lb
Two Names
Birth Date

Document Collaboration:

Document where multiple people can collaborate at the same time

12. Google Docs http://docs.google.com
Allows the user to create spreadsheets, word processing documents, presentations and store PDF's with sharing/collaboration options

Honorable Extras:
Office Online http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/word/default.aspx
Zoho http://www.zoho.com/

Drawing:

Draw a picture or edit a photo online

13. Sumo Paint http://www.sumopaint.com/web/
Draw a picture with a variety of features

Honorable Extras:
Flash Paint http://www.flashpaint.com/
Queeky http://www.queeky.com/cms/index.php

Family Tree:

Create a family tree that offers options to share and collaborate

14. Geni http://www.geni.com/
Create a family tree

Honorable Extras:
Myfamily http://www.myfamily.com/welcome/

File Sharing:

Share files

15. drop.io (http://drop.io/)
Allows users to create links for easy file access from anywhere

Honorable Extras:
Box.net http://www.box.net/
Drop Box (DL) https://www.getdropbox.com/
Pando (DL) http://www.pando.com/

Flash Cards:

Create study cards that can be shared

16. Quizlet (http://quizlet.com/)
Create flashcards with user input data

Honorable Extras:
Study Stack (http://www.studystack.com/)
Flash Card Exchange (http://www.flashcardexchange.com/)

Graphic Organizers:

Create graphic organizers allowing users to brainstorm and collaborate synchronously

17. Mind42 (http://mind42.com/)

18. MyWebSpiration (http://mywebspiration.com/)

Image Capture:

Take screen shots and/or video of your computer screen

19. Skitch (http://skitch.com/)
Take screen shots of anything on your computer and add text and arrows to the capture, can be saved, downloaded or embedded into wikis or e-mail.
Example:
440 N Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19130 - Google Maps
Uploaded with plasq's Skitch!


20. Jing (http://jingproject.com/)
Create screencast video of your computer screen.

Image Editors:

Edit photos by cropping, coloring, and adding text

21. Photoshop (https://www.photoshop.com/)
Free online photo editor

Honorable Extras:
GIMP (DL) (http://www.gimp.org/)
Picnick (http://www.picnik.com/)
Sumo Paint (http://sumopaint.com/web/)

Image Effects:

Add effects to photos and images

22. Dumpr (http://www.dumpr.net/)
Upload an image and use the various tools to edit and add effects

23. Flickr Toys (http://bighugelabs.com/)
Allows the user to add a variety of effects to photos, compatible with Flickr

Honorable Extras:
Photo Fun Box (http://funphotobox.com/effects.aspx)
PhotoFunia (http://www.photofunia.com/)

Image Storage:

Share and store images online

24. Flickr http://www.flickr.com/

Honorable Extras:
Photo Bucket http://photobucket.com/
Picasa http://picasa.google.com
SnapFish http://www.snapfish.com/

Jeopardy:

Classroom review game

25. Jeopardy Lab http://jeopardylabs.com/
Allows user to create a web based jeopardy game using self created or pre-made questions

Media Conversion:

Convert different media files and download videos from video storage sites to your computers

26. Hand Brake (DL) http://handbrake.fr/
Converts DVD's into editable files and converts them to be watch on portable devices

27. Zamzar http://www.zamzar.com/
Converts a variety of media files into different formats and downloads video files from websites

Honorable Extras:
Media Converter http://www.mediaconverter.org/

Micro Blogging:

Allows the user to tell the world what they are doing via video, GPS, pictures and text

28. 12seconds http://12seconds.tv/
Allows the user to send a 12 second video clip via phone or web camera using twitter or the 12seconds TV channel.

29. Daily Mug Shot http://www.dailymugshot.com/
Allows users to take a screen shot of their face or anything else via web cam or uploaded picture; users can only add one picture per day

Example:


Honorable Extras:
BrightKite http://brightkite.com/
Twitter http://twitter.com/

Music:

Listen to music online for free; users can create their own stations with artists; allows for sharing

30. Last.fm http://www.last.fm/

Honorable Extras:
Blip.fm http://blip.fm/
Moof http://moof.com/
Pandora http://www.pandora.com/

Note Taking and more:

Organizes notes, pictures, audio files, and many others.

31. Evernote http://www.evernote.com/
Allows users to get organized and sync everything via multiple devices

Online Meetings:

Allows users to meet via the internet and hold classes, meetings, etc. for free

32. DimDim http://www.dimdim.com/
Create an online classroom to share screens, files and answer student questions

33. Adobe Connect Now http://www.adobe.com/acom/connectnow/
Allows for a professional classroom setting

Honorable Extras:
Flash Meeting http://flashmeeting.e2bn.net/
WizIQ http://www.wiziq.com/
Yugma https://www.yugma.com/

Online Streaming:

Technique for transferring live video to the internet

34. Ustream http://www.ustream.tv/
Allows users to create their own TV channel that can be embedded onto a wiki and live streamed via a link, also allows for archiving for easy retrieval

Honorable Extras:
Justin.tv http://www.justin.tv/
Live Stream http://www.livestream.com/

Personal Learning Networks:

A network of people created to share and collaborate on ideas

35. Ning (http://www.ning.com/)
Create a learning community about a certain topic or hobby, share ideas, thoughts and get organized as a group

Podcast Sharing:

Sites for syndicated website content sharing which allows users to upload or download to their iPod

36. Gabcast http://gabcast.com/index.php
Create a podcast locally or from a phone and host the podcast using this site (5 minutes free)

37. Gcast http://www.gcast.com/
Create a podcast locally or form your phone and host the podcast on this site (Pay for phone)

Honorable Extras:
Audacity http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Photo Slide Shows:

Create slideshows of photos and embed them in wikis and web sites

38. Bubble Share (http://www.bubbleshare.com/)
Create a running slide show of pictures to embed on a wiki or web site

Example:
http://keystones.wikispaces.com/

Honorable Extras:
Slide http://www.slide.com/
SmileBox (http://www.smilebox.com/)

Photo Stories:

Create unique digital stories with picture and audio that anyone can add to

39. Voice Thread (http://voicethread.com/#home)
Add pictures and then create text or audio about the picture (3 Voice Threads for free)

Polls/Voting:

Take polls via web based questions or cell phone

40. Poll Everywhere (http://www.polleverywhere.com/)
Create a question and have users answer via the web or cell phone

Example:
Click to see Poll Results!
Click to take Web Poll

Honorable Extras:
Poll Authority (http://www.pollauthority.com/)

Slide Show:

Share your slide shows via the web and embed on wikis and web sites

41. Google Presentations (http://docs.google.com)
Upload a presentation and embed it on a wiki or web site, accessible from anywhere with internet

Example:
http://lutzcff.wikispaces.com/Activ+PD+1

Honorable Extras:
Slide Share (http://www.slideshare.net/)
Slide Rocket (http://www.sliderocket.com/)

Social Bookmarking:

Share websites that are bookmarked with a social network

42. Delicious (http://delicious.com/)
Add bookmarks to the website to share with other users and view all your bookmarks on multiple computers

43. Diigo (http://www.diigo.com/)
Share bookmarks with a group of like-minded individuals and get an e-mail when links are added

Study Skills:

Brush up on vocabulary, art, geography and more

44. Free Rice (http://freerice.com/)
This site promotes knowledge, where users answer questions in different categories; for each correct answer the site provides rice to third world countries

Surveys:

Create a questionnaire for users, view the results in a report or spreadsheet

45. Google Form (http://docs.google.com)
Create an online survey and view the results via a generated report or spreadsheet


Text To Speech:

Reads text in a web site and converts it to an audio file

46. Read The Words (http://www.readthewords.com/)
Allows the user to highlight words that are then read to them

Honorable Extras:
Click Speak http://clickspeak.clcworld.net/
VozMe (http://vozme.com/index.php?lang=en)

Timeline:

Create a timeline of events or important dates

47. Read Write Think Timeline Maker (http://www.readwritethink.org/materials/timeline/)
Allows the user to fill in the blanks, add dates and create a timeline

Honorable Extras:
Dipity (http://www.dipity.com/)
Time Glider (http://timeglider.com)
xtimeline (http://www.xtimeline.com/)

Timer:

Use to keep track of time and set up alarms

48. ApiMac Timer DL (Mac) http://www.apimac.com/timer/
Download that keeps time and sounds an alarm for a Mac

48. TimeLeft DL (PC) http://timeleft.info/
Download that keeps time and sounds an alarm for a PC

Translator:

Allows the user to translate languages of web content

49. Google Translate http://translate.google.com/translate_t?hl=en#
Translate full websites into a variety of different languages; also includes a widget that allows users to change the language of a website

Example:
http://followme.wikispaces.com/

Video Creation:

Create video using pictures, music and transitions

50. Animoto http://animoto.com/business/education/
Upload pictures, select music, and Animoto will create a 30 second video

Example:


Video Editing:

Allows users to edit video without software

51. Jaycut http://jaycut.com/
Edit and share videos online

Honorable Extras:
Riff Trax http://www.rifftrax.com/cuts

Video Sharing:

Upload videos and share them with the world

52. TeacherTube http://teachertube.com/
Share educational videos with the world on this safe site, allows users to embed video onto wikis or share links

Honorable Extras:
Motion Box http://www.motionbox.com/
SchoolTube http://www.schooltube.com/
Vimeo http://www.vimeo.com/

Video Teleprompter:

Online teleprompter where users can read text while creating a web cast

53. Cue Prompter http://www.cueprompter.com/
Add text, set the speed and read away while looking and recording from a web cam

Visual Blogging:

Create visual pages embeddable for wikis, web sites and blogs

54. Glogster http://www.glogster.com/
http://www.glogster.com/edu
Create visual and interactive pages that can be embedded onto a wiki or blog

Honorable Extras:
Scrapblog http://www.scrapblog.com/

White Board:

Interactive, virtual white board where users can collaborate and share ideas synchronously

55. Scribblar http://scribblar.com/
Use this site to brainstorm ideas on a white board that can be seen on multiple computers

Honorable Extras:
Skrbl http://skrbl.com/

Wiki Creation:

Create a wiki where users can collaborate and share content on a specific topic or idea

56. Wikispaces http://www.wikispaces.com
Wiki creator that is free for educators.

Honorable Extras:
Google Sites http://sites.google.com
PB Wiki http://pbworks.com/
Scratch Pad http://scratchpad.wikia.com/wiki/Scratchpad_Wiki_Labs
Wet Paint http://www.wetpaint.com/


Wiki Widgets:

Widgets to enhance or track wikis or websites

57. Cluster Maps http://clustrmaps.com/
Embeddable widget that shows the number of visits to a website and their origins, uses a world map and dots

58. Widgets for Free http://widgetsforfree.blogspot.com/
Site that offers free tools and add-ons for websites and wikis

59. Sparklee http://www.sparklee.com/
Create a text file that sparkles and adds pizazz to a website or wiki

Example:
glitter logo - http://www.sparklee.com

Nintendo DS Lite Onyx
Honorable Extras:

Feedjit http://feedjit.com/joinjs/
Google Analytics http://www.google.com/analytics/
Moonk http://www.moonk.com/

Word Cloud:

Picture of words that are sized based on their amount of use in a document

60. Wordle http://www.wordle.net/
Create a word cloud of the words used in your blog, paper or any site that has RSS

Example:
60 in 60
Uploaded with plasq's Skitch!


Extra:

Donors Choose:
http://www.donorschoose.org/

Get New PhotoBooth effects here!!!!
http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/email_chat/moreichateffects.html

Guest Presenter Information:

Scott Snyder
http://thespian70.blogspot.com/
http://k12online08presenters.wikispaces.com/Scott+Snyder